top of page
Search
  • jenniferleamann

Back to Santa Marta, Columbia



Sunrise this morning!

I'm Back! I have a lot to write about and so this post may be more information than some may want to read, but here goes:


First, I want to Thank Everyone who is reading and following our blog. I love reading the comments and please continue with questions and thoughts. I may not respond, but I do read all of them. This blog has been a learning experience for me and I did not exactly know what I was getting myself into when I started. My first reason to blog was to document the circumnavigation, but then I started enjoying documenting my thoughts and feelings at the time of our travels. I really appreciate the encouragement to continue to post our travels from so many people. Some of you know me really well and others not as much. I wanted you to get acquainted with me a little more so you have a better understanding of the way I express myself in the written word. First of all, writing is a struggle for me! I do not consider myself a grammatical genius and those of you who are English accomplished probably cringe when you read some of my posts. I did not learn to read until I was in fourth grade and writing has always been a practice I veered away from because my teachers in school critiqued the desire to write out of me. Needless to say school was never my favorite place. I guess that is why I became an educator because I didn't want children to struggle through school like I did. I really didn't enjoy writing until I got my masters degree and I was 40 years old. Writing for my masters was easy because I was interested in the content. When G Mann and I decided to go on this adventure I promised myself that I was going to take the time to have courage to take some risks. Most of you would think isn't the trip itself a risk? Not really for me, I love pushing myself physically and mentally and sometimes to the point of danger. So writing is a lot more scary to me than sailing around the world. So with all that said, please understand that I love expressing myself with this blog, but I am not by any stretch of the word a writer.


 

My Trip From Houston Texas to Santa Marta, (Not as easy as I thought it would be)


I left Houston, Texas, Bush Airport at 9:30pm and landed in El Salvador around 3:30am. I was beat and ready to get to my destination. I had one more stop in Panama City, Panama and then fly to Santa Marta, Columbia. My plane was leaving El Salvador around 6:00am so I had plenty of time for my connection. The airport was small and I felt confident all would be fine and I had nothing to worry about. Until, the dreaded call of my name over the intercom when boarding is about to begin. Ugggg I knew something was wrong. Sure enough there was a problem with Columbian immigration because I had a one way ticket into their country. Believe it or not Columbia isn't really excited about a foreigner coming into their country and not leaving or have some way to leave. The World ARC had prepared us for this confusion and I had a letter explaining that I was leaving the country on a yacht in Santa Marta, Columbia. The immigration was still questioning my intentions and of course this is all done in Spanish which I understand a little but speak less. I called G Mann to let him know I may not be coming on this flight because of the complications with my one way ticket. I gave my phone to the Copa airline representative so G Mann could speak to her in Spanish and help me understand what was going on. The Copa Airline representative was super nice and stayed on the phone explaining my case until the very last minute. Meanwhile, I stood at the flight check-in desk watching everyone board the plane. One after another, after another, one by one they would pass by me. I started problem solving in my mind what I was going to do if they didn't let me on the plane. I ended up the last passenger on the plane right before the gate was getting ready to close. What a sigh of relief Ahhhhhhh. I wasn't worried about being stranded in Panama City because my sister was there with her husband and I would have advocates and a place to stay. I did not know a soul in El Salvador and I was sure they were not going to want me to hang out there for long either. I made it to Panama City, checked with the service desk to ensure there would be no problems traveling to Columbia and they let me know all was good. I boarded the plane and was feeling a little nervous about going through immigration in Columbia, but there was no turning back now. I Made it to Santa Marta and through the first customs line. The first line was to check a document that had to be filled out before the arrival. I started a conversation in line with a nice young lady from Columbia and asked her what documents they were checking. She explained to me that the document they were asking for was sometimes needed and she was told that they didn't ask for it anymore. She explained that it was good idea to fill it all out just in case they asked for it. Luckily, I filled it out the night before and had it saved on my phone. I told her my story and she gave me some advice on how to handle going through immigration. I walked up to the immigration window shaking in my shoes and trying not to look suspicious. The officer looked through my documents and showed another agent my passport. I stood there hoping and praying that all was going to be good. The officer passed me through and I did the happy dance down the aisle! I saw G Mann was waiting for me cheering me on and a huge grin on his face. All was good and we took a taxi back to the boat. We have discussed this topic with other travelers and they explained that sailing from one city to another is difficult as well. If we were to sail to another city in Columbia, we would have to check out of Santa Marta, pay, fill out a book of paper work and check in to the next Columbian city. So needless to say we are staying put until we head to Panama with World ARC around January 24th.


Great Help with Boat Cleaning,

The boat looks fresh and ready for departure. I spent the day cleaning the inside.


The hardest working group. Worked in this crazy heat with a smile.





Whenever we think we are finished with boat projects we find something else to work on...Luckily, we were able to hire these nice young men to get this huge job done. Wash and Wax

Notice the long sleeves...the sun is brutal here. HOT and I can't even describe how HOT.







Town Square on our way to lunch
Town Square

Town Square (I think this little guy was left over from Christmas)
Town Square

Boat kids fishing in the evening by our boat

This last picture is of some young boys fishing. There are a lot of young kids all living with their parents on sail boats in this marina. I will write a blog about their life on a boat. Very interesting speaking with them. Most of them are from all over the world and they usually are bilingual, native language and English and some also speak Spanish as well. It is a fascinating life they lead.


Until Next time, I hope everyone is living their dream!


174 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page